Cheesy Mexican Creamed Corn


Have you ever made a recipe you thought looked tasty and then were totally blown away by just how awesome it was? This was definitely the case with this recipe I discovered on Pink Parsley. Obviously, I thought it would be good, and thought it would be a delicious side for the Chicken Enchiladas Verdes I was making for our Cinco de Mayo dinner, but I was really impressed by how this simple dish stood on its own by bringing out the sweetness and natural flavor of the corn. I’ll definitely be making it again, as I think it would pair well with so many different dishes.

The original recipe calls for using corn freshly cut from the cob, but I used frozen corn, as it’s not quite sweet corn season around here yet, and, honestly, I didn’t want to put forth the extra effort. I think either would work great. I’ve also adjusted the recipe you see below to yield a smaller amount, as the 12 cups/ears of corn originally called for would feed an army, and be way too much for just the two of us.


Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp Unsalted Butter
  • ½ cup Scallions, chopped
  • 4 cups/ears Corn, freshly cut from the cob or frozen that has been thawed
  • 1/3 cup Heavy Cream
  • 1 tsp Cornstarch
  • 1 Small Garlic Clove, minced
  • 3 oz Queso Fresco, crumbled
  • 1/3 cup Cilantro, chopped

Directions:

  1. Heat butter in a deep 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat until foam subsides. Cook scallions, stirring occasionally until softened, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the corn and 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and pepper, stirring occasionally, 5 minutes.
  3. Stir together the cream and cornstarch until thoroughly combined. Add to the corn and simmer, stirring until slightly thickened, about 3 minutes.
  4. Transfer ¾ cups of the corn mixture to a blender, or hand blender safe dish, with garlic and puree until smooth. Return to the skillet and cook, stirring constantly, until heated through. Season with additional salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Mix in most of the cheese and cilantro. Sprinkle additional cheese and cilantro on top to serve.

3 thoughts on “Cheesy Mexican Creamed Corn

  1. Sriram says:

    If one could eat of the computer then that image would be long gone :). Looks as tasty as the description and you have made me hungry again since I just had my dinner :).

Leave a comment