30 While I’m 30


I started this list as a series of challenges for myself in terms of blogging and adventures in the kitchen. What I came up with was not only some challenges, but also a list that is a commitment to myself, and anyone out there paying attention, of what I would like to be able to look back on when I turn, eeek!, 31. These are not in order of importance or desire, but I did group them according to what they were and/or how they are made. And who are we kidding, the booze is on top, and that’s the way it should be. There is a lot of baking on the list, as I’ve never considered myself a baker, but have had some wins in that department lately and want to keep pushing myself to try more and get better. Next are a few desserts that I have yet to either try or document, and I want to make a point to do so this year. After that I’ve listed a few main dishes that I have yet to make and/or master. I’m a consistent failure at a from scratch mac & cheese, and this needs to be resolved immediately. Finally, the list ends with a few party menus, as I haven’t been blogging as many entertaining endeavors as I would like.

  1. Baileys
  2. Flavored Vodkas
  3. Kahlua
  4. Limoncello
  5. Challah
  6. English Muffins
  7. Focaccia Bread
  8. Madeleines
  9. Pita Bread
  10. Soft Pretzels
  11. Southern buttermilk biscuits
  12. Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread
  13. Bananas Foster or Cherries Jubilee
  14. Crème Brule
  15. Fancy Schmancy Cupcakes, i.e. S’mores, Milk & Cookies, Oreo, Key Lime, Dark Chocolate & Raspberry, Dulce de Leche, Strawberry Shortcake, etc. you get the idea
  16. Layered Birthday Cake for a “client”
  17. Fresh Fruit Tart with Pastry Cream
  18. Gelato
  19. Ice Cream
  20. Soufflés
  21. Macaroni & Cheese
  22. Paella
  23. Pho
  24. Ravioli (completely from scratch)
  25. Seafood Boil
  26. Whole Beef Tenderloin
  27. Baby Shower
  28. Housewarming Party (included as wishful thinking that we sell the condo and buy a new house within the year)
  29. Jim’s 30th Birthday Party
  30. Ladies’ Night Get Together

3 thoughts on “30 While I’m 30

  1. Kelsey says:

    I’m so glad you’ve decided to do this! I’m having fun with my list so far. It looks like we’ve chosen some of the same things. Wouldn’t it be fun to choose them at the same time and blog them together?

    • jaimeleben says:

      Well, I did start with your list, but then took some things off, and added some others. Also, I was already planning on making the focaccia today, so I figured I should put it up there. 😉 I would love to co-blog a few things with you!

Leave a comment