Jalapeño Popper Dip


I’ve seen a lot of recipes for this dip, so when Jim needed something for this Sunday’s Packers game, I knew it was my opportunity to give it a try. We were in the car, so I Google, and came upon this recipe. It seemed like a good place to start, but I made a few changes, that are reflected below. I wanted a more “authentic” popper taste, so I opted for fresh jalapeños rather than pickled. I also decided to take advantage of the fresh thick cut bacon I had on hand, so I sautéed the peppers in some bacon pieces and drippings before adding to the rest of the ingredients. The result was a dip with great flavor and a bite without being overly spicy.

Update: Find yourself with some leftover dip? Try this Tortilla Crusted Jalapeno Popper Stuffed Chicken Breast, you won’t be disappointed.


Ingredients:

Dip:

  • 3 slices bacon, diced
  • 3 to 4 jalapeños, coarsely chopped
  • 2 8 oz. packages cream cheese, room temp
  • ½ cup mayonnaise
  • 1 cup shredded Mexican blend cheese
  • 2 4 oz. can chopped green chilies
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled

 

Topping:

  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • ½ cup Parmesan cheese
  • ½ cup shredded Mexican blend cheese
  • ½ stick butter, melted

 

Directions:

  1. Sauté bacon over medium heat until starting to brown, about 8 minutes. Stir in chopped jalapeños, and continue to sauté until bacon is fully cooked, being careful not to burn, about 10 minutes more. Set aside to cool.
  2. In a food processor add the rest of the dip ingredients and process until smooth. Add in the bacon and jalapeños and pulse until incorporated, but not completely smooth. You want to be left with little bits of bacon and jalapeño.
  3. Spread the dip into a greased 2 quart casserole.
  4. In a bowl mix panko and the cheese. Pour melted butter over top crumb mixture and mix well. Sprinkle crumb mixture evenly over the dip and bake in a 375° oven for about 20 minutes. You want the top to get browned and the dip to be heated through and bubble gently on the edges.
  5. Serve hot with thick tortilla chips and veggies.

5 thoughts on “Jalapeño Popper Dip

    • jaimeleben says:

      Thanks for the catch. I’ve updated so it’s a little clear, and am embarrassed that I let that typo slip through. Step #3 should now read as follows: “Spread the dip into a greased 2 quart casserole.”

Leave a comment