Meal Plan – January 14th – 20th


  • Saturday – Dinner: Romaine Wedge Salads, Filet Mignon, Twice Baked Potatoes, Roasted Asparagus, and Roasted Garlic Mushrooms – This was a great meal. Really, really great meal. I was reminded that all our meat should be purchased from Haus of Prime in Delafield. One of those “If buying meat from a gas station is wrong, I don’t want to be right” situations. If you go, ask them to season for you with their house blend. You won’t be disappointed.

     

  • Sunday – Dinner: Lentil and Black Bean Soup with Andouille Sausage – This was good. I bumped up the spices a little for our tastes, but, otherwise, didn’t really change anything.

     

  • Monday – Dinner: Cheesy Pearl Couscous with Roasted Broccoli – Think of the best mac and cheese you’ve ever had, and then add bacon. Yeah, now you’ve got it. Great recipe to have when you’re looking for a quick meal to please parents and kids alike. Especially kids who like broccoli better than pasta … my kid is such a weirdo.

     

  • Tuesday – Dinner: Birthday Dinner at Kurt’s Steakhouse – After Saturday, I was steaked out, so we had the house bruschetta and I enjoyed the coconut shrimp for my entrée. I love this restaurant, probably ‘because you can’t go wrong with reasonably prices steaks, awesome house vinaigrette, and deep fried rolls. Yes, I said deep. fried. rolls.

     

  • Wednesday – Dinner: Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas – I liked this, but I don’t think I’d do the sweet potatoes next time, and I would add more mushrooms and beans to give a meat substitute. Also, replace the salsa with some enchilada sauce to bump up the smokiness and overall enchilada flavor. Jim didn’t care for this, but I think with some changes, he won’t glare at me next time I put some vegetarian Mexican food in front of him.

     

  • Thursday – Dinner: Italian Salad with Fresh Basil Vinaigrette – I served this salad with some fresh ciabatta and sliced salamis on the side. It was a very nice, and filling, main meal salad. Top with whatever you have on hand that fits into the category of “anti-pasta”, and you’ll be sure to enjoy it as well.

     

  • Friday – Dinner: Sushi Take-Out from Asiana – Clear Mushroom Soup, Pepper Tuna (Thin-sliced seared tuna w. wasabi mayo), & Western Roll (Spicy crab w. crunch inside and avocado, shrimp tempura outside w. mayonnaise sauce on top). I discovered that Carter enjoys Tuna during this dinner. Again, he’s a weirdo, but I didn’t mind fighting with him over the yumminess.
Leave a Reply

