Meal Plan – December 10th – December 16th


  • Saturday, Sunday, & Monday – No recipes to share here. I will share that I used this time to say goodbye to my grandfather, Victor Leben.


    3 Things I will always remember about my grandpa:

    • The smell of pipe tobacco. He quit years ago, but the smell will always bring me back to him,
    • His response to me telling him I was pregnant, “Well, that’s what you get for fooling around” followed by a wink and a smile.
    • His ability to do what he believed what was right for his family even when it was tough. My dad inherited that trait, and while I hated it as a child, as an adult and parent, I now understand and appreciate it more than ever.

    Love You Grandpa!

     

  • Tuesday – Dinner: Chicken Fried Chicken Cutlets, Mashed Potatoes, Corn, Green Beans, & Biscuits – After being away, we were all in need of a “real dinner”. This definitely fit the bill.

     

  • Wednesday – Dinner: Spinach Stuffed Shells, Broccoli with Garlic & Red Pepper, and Fresh Bread – This was a great recipe that made enough for 8 servings of shells. I believe they freeze well, so it’s a great way to have some make-ahead meals on hand for busy weeks.

     

  • Thursday – Dinner: Steamed Edemame, Miso Brined Pork Chops, Spicy-and-Garlicky Brussels Sprouts, and Rice – Yeah, I’m officially giving up on pork chops. I can cook so many things successfully, but this cut I just cannot get the hang of, so I will, officially, throw in the towel. The Brussels Sprouts were a big hit though, and I’ve been given the green light to keep those on the Brussels rotation.

     

  • Friday – Dinner: Out to eat at Wells Street Tavern – We started with the pretzels, which were good, but nothing special. After that, Jim had the Tavern Club, I had the Meat Loaf, and Carter had the Chicken Tenders kids’ meal. Jim seemed to like his, Carter only ate his fries, and my meat loaf was super salty, while the corn and potatoes were cold. I’m not in any hurry to go back any time soon.
Leave a Reply

