Chile Relleno Bake


Oh Mah Gawd! Yeah, that’s right. I typed it. All lame-like, but I don’t care. That’s what I thought when I took my first bite of this dish. It’s like a quiche went on vacation to Mexico and had a delicious baby. Wait, was that too creepy for food? Meh, I don’t care. It was worth it. Have you gotten the impression yet that this is delicious and you should make it soon? I have to admit that my favorite part, other than it being crazy tasty, was that there were no complaints about this being night 2 of vegetarian meals. Yes! It was so good we didn’t miss the meat. I think we need an awesome Latin inspired song to celebrate … click here to enjoy … Why did I put that in there? I don’t know, I think I got confused thinking about how yummy this was.


Alright, well, that’s about it for this recipe that I found at Circle B Kitchen. To recap, I think you should make this soon.


Ingredients:

  • 12 oz. Cheese, shredded (a mix of Monterey jack, pepper jack, and/or cheddar)
  • 5 Eggs
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/3 cup Flour
  • 1 2/3 cups Milk
  • 3 large Poblano chiles, roasted, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • ½ cup Tomatillo Salsa

Instructions:

  1. Spray a 2-quart baking dish with cooking spray and preheat the oven to 350.
  2. Place ¾ of the grated cheese in the bottom of your baking dish. Place the chopped chiles over the cheese.
  3. Beat the eggs and slowly whisk in the flour, salt, then the milk and pour over cheese and chiles.
  4. Sprinkle the remaining cheese over the top and then drizzle with the salsa. Bake for 45 – 65 minutes or until the center is set. Cool for 10 minutes, and cut into wedges.
4 thoughts on “Chile Relleno Bake

Leave a Reply

