Mexican Rice


I had a Mexican rice mixed that we absolutely loved, and then *POOF!* gone. It’s not on my grocery store’s shelves, it’s not online, and it’s nowhere to be found. Had I known that Vigo was going to do this to me, I would have stocked up. I’ve been trying different brands, but nothing really compares. The closest we’ve found is a grain blend by Uncle Ben’s that’s really good if you’re in a pinch. The problem with the pre-made packages and boxes is two-fold for me: 1. the cost and 2. the inability to control what’s in them.

I put this dish together, and I think it hits pretty close to what my old favorite tasted like. If I had them, I would probably also throw in some peas and carrots as well, and will probably plan on that in the future.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • ½ Red Onion, finely diced
  • 3 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp Cumin
  • 1 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1 tsp Oregano, Mexican is best
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Pepper
  • 1 Cup Rice
  • 1 tsp Chicken Soup Base or Bouillon
  • 2 Cups Water
  • 1 Cup Corn, Peas, and/or Diced Carrots*, fresh or frozen

Directions:

  1. In a 3 quart saucepan over medium heat, sauté onions and garlic until cooked through, about 5 minutes, stirring frequently.
  2. Add in spices and mix into sautéed vegetables. Mix in rice.
  3. Add in water and soup starter. Bring to a boil and then turn down to a simmer, cover, and cook for 20 minutes.
  4. Fluff with a fork and gently stir in vegetables. Cover, and let warm through.

*If using the carrots, I would steam first, or use frozen.

5 thoughts on “Mexican Rice

Leave a Reply

