Baked Jambalaya


If it wasn’t already the case, this recipe could have made Jim fall in love with me. Alright, alright, maybe that’s an exaggeration, but he was a very happy man at dinner last night. I’m not surprised though, as this was right up his alley: sausage, shrimp, chicken, rice, spice, and a lot of flavor.

I actually owe this one to Jim too, as it was his forgetful nature that had me scrambling to find something to make for dinner. I’m a weekly meal planner. I sit down on Saturday or Sunday, take stock of what’s in the house, what we haven’t had in awhile, and what we’ve got going on, to then be able to set to planning what I’ll be making for dinners during the coming week. I hadn’t planned anything for this week, as Jim was supposed to be helping his brother with a project at his house. We’ll he tells me at 8:00 p.m. on Sunday night that he had gotten the weeks wrong, and it would actually be next week that he would be helping his brother. When I asked why he was just telling me now, he explained that he thought he had, but now that he thought about it, that conversation only took place in his head. Gee, thanks.

I have to say that, even without any planning, I did pretty well this week, and it was a great opportunity to use up some leftover odds and end and things that have been in the freezer. When I came upon this recipe from One Particular Kitchen, I immediately thought of the afore mentioned odds and ends I had in my freezer, in particular, a ½ link of sausage wrapped in foil that has been the punch line to a few off color jokes over the past couple of months. I would also be able to use the jar of Penzey’s “New & Improved” Cajun Seasoning I had recently cashed in my free coupon for, but really had nothing planned to use it in any time soon.

I tweaked the original recipe slightly to accommodate what we had on hand, our tastes, and what I knew we would continue to have on hand in the future, i.e. I always have soup base in the house, but don’t generally buy premade soups and broths as called for the in the original recipe. This was absolutely fantastic, and would be great served with a fresh green salad and some crusty French bread or cornbread.

Ingredients:

  • 6 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 ½ cups Rice, uncooked long grain
  • 1 can Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
  • ½ lb, or ½ link, Smoked Sausage, such as Andouille or Kielbasa, sliced and cut into “half moons” (I used a Turkey Kielbasa)
  • ½ lb Shrimp, peeled and deveined (about 15 to 20 pieces of size 31-40)
  • 1 large Chicken Breast, boneless, skinless, and cut into bite sized pieces
  • ½ Red Onion, cut into a large dice
  • 1 Green Pepper, cut into a large dice
  • 3 ½ cups water
  • 1 tsp Chicken Soup Base
  • 1 tsp Beef Soup Base
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • 2 Tbsp Cajun Seasoning

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350⁰.
  2. Melt butter in a 13×9″ casserole dish. Swirl around to coat.
  3. In a large bowl, stir all ingredients together, including excess melted butter.
  4. Transfer to buttered casserole dish.
  5. Cover tightly, and bake for one hour. Stir and bake 30 minutes more or until rice is cooked through.
  6. Allow to set for about 10 minutes and remove bay leaves before serving with Cajun seasoning and Tabasco alongside for guests to add additional seasoning to taste.
4 thoughts on “Baked Jambalaya

    • jaimeleben says:

      That’s a great question. Smoked sausage is pre-cooked by nature, but the chicken and shrimp were both thawed from the freezer and thrown in raw. Amazingly, after over an hour of cooking, the shrimp were perfectly done and not overcooked at all.

Leave a Reply

