Buttermilk Substitute


I have a habit of either not having buttermilk when I need it, or having a heck of a time using the rest of the buttermilk in the 4 cup carton when I only needed 2 cups or less. The “recipe” below, I have a hard time even calling it a recipe, is a way to convert regular milk into buttermilk. I do recommend using a whole, or at least 1%, milk, as a skim milk will give you a drier final product when baking.

Ingredients:

  • Milk (just under one cup)
  • 1 Tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Place a Tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup.
  2. Add enough milk to bring the liquid up to the one-cup line.
  3. Let stand for five minute. Then, use as much as your recipe calls for.
4 thoughts on “Buttermilk Substitute

  1. Ann says:

    Hooray! Someone else who uses this substitute. I have the exact SAME dilemma, a recipe calls for buttermilk and I don’t have any on hand! I was so excited about this substitute, it was the first post on my blog….=)

Leave a Reply

