Chocolate Cake with Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting


We were going out to dinner with a couple we’re friends with, and decided to come back to our house for dessert. I was pouring our recipes in my books and starred Google Reader posts when I remembered that his birthday was the following week. That decided it, I was making a cake. When I asked Jim what kind of cake he thought I should make, he responded by saying “yellow cake with white frosting”, to which I said, “Nobody likes yellow cake with white frosting”. I know that’s not completely true, but it’s boring, and I wanted wow. I decided to convert my chocolate cupcake recipe into 2 9-inch rounds, and baked for 32 minutes. My mind then went to what to top it with, and I thought of the strawberry buttercream recipe from Confessions of a Tart’s blog. While it wasn’t exactly what I wanted, it inspired me to look for a frosting that combined strawberries with cream cheese, which I finally found at Cupcake Project. I made decorations using melted chocolate piped onto waxed paper. The dots and swirls turned out well, but I should have rechecked the size of the cake before writing out “Happy Birthday”. As you can see from the picture, it was hanging off the sides a little bit, but didn’t break, so I consider it a win.


The final project turned out great, and gave me the confidence to try more cakes in the future.

 

Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 C butter (room temperature)
  • 1 8 oz package cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 1/2 C strawberries, mashed up in a food processor
  • 3 to 4 C powdered sugar

Directions:

  1. Cream butter and cream cheese.
  2. Mix in the strawberries.
  3. Add the powdered sugar to the taste and consistency you prefer.
  4. Add to your favorite cupcakes!
3 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake with Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Kelly says:

    I like that the wording falls off the cake. It’s unique and really awesome looking! Had I not read your blog it looks like you did it on purpose. Looks great!! (and delicious)

    • jaimeleben says:

      Just some melted Ghiradelli chocolate chips in a Wilton sqeeze bottle. I thinned the chocolate with about 1 Tbsp of vegetable oil.

Leave a Reply

