Dane County Farmers’ Market


On Saturday, Ann and I made the trip out to the Farmers’ Market in the capitol square.  It was a perfect day to walk around and see what everyone had to sell.  To say it was worth the 45 minute drive would be an understatement.  Here is the list of everything I bought:

A shot of my loot.  I had to stand on a stool to get everything in the picture!

A shot of my loot. I had to stand on a stool to get everything in the picture!

  • HoneyCrisp Apples 
  • Amish Sweet Potato (2 1/2 pound)
  • Broccoli
  • Blue Potatoes
  • Organic Carrots
  • Heirloom Cherry Tomatoes
  • Roma Tomatoes
  • Green Beans
  • Sugar Snap Peas
  • German White Garlic
  • Red & White Onions
  • Poblano Peppers
  • Green Peppers
  • Green Leaf Lettuce
  • Coconut Macaroon
  • Herb Cheese Bread 
  • Spicy Cheese Bread
  • Iced Cinnamon Raison Roll
  • Summer, Cajun, & Medium Spice Sausage Sticks
  • Chili Cheese Curds
  • Grass Fed Organic Dry Aged Beef
  • Butternut Squash Ravioli
  • Raspberry Jalapeno Jam

Now, you would think with that laundry list there wouldn’t be anything left, but I’m still kicking myself for not picking up some sweet corn, mushrooms, greens, bouquets of fresh flowers, and big heirloom tomatoes.  I would have gone back for them, but I literally ran out of money.  I’ve told Jim that I’m making him come with me again some time soon, but once he smells all the goodies baking, I don’t think he’ll be too bothered.

I used the beef, tomatoes, peppers, onions, and garlic to make chili the next night, and I served it with, what else, that yummy cheesy bread.  So good!

One thought on “Dane County Farmers’ Market

Leave a Reply

